Is there actually a real Samsung DEVELOPER program?

Let’s say I’m an app developer and I would need information about an upcoming Android release from Samsung like OneUI 4.0 (Android 12)…where do I get those information?

With information I mean something like this:

I already found multiple behavior changes in the beta version of OneUI 4.0, that are NOT part of the official Android 12 release, but for the love of god I cannot find any documentation or information about any OneUI release and therefore no information about those behavior changes.

So, as a normal end user I’m able to test new OneUI releases, but as a DEVELOPER I’m unable to make my apps compatible with this new release, because there is no developer documentation available.

I hope I’m just very bad at searching but at the moment there is no real Samsung DEVELOPER program, IMHO.

Please guide me to the real DEVELOPER information/documentation! :neutral_face:

2 Likes

I believe Android 12 Beta will only be available to Galaxy S21 users and you apply for it through the Samsung Members App.

If it is available it should be in the Members app notifications. If not check with your service provider. They are responsible for Android Beta programs and I know that Android 11 was only available by one provider in the US. I don’t know about global.

Ron
Samsung Developer Relations

My English might be really bad, but I’m not talking about any end user beta program.
I’m talking about a real developer program provided by Samsung.
(And yes, I already installed the Samsung Beta of OneUI 4.0 on our Galaxy S21 test device.)

Just look at the Android Developer program and you know what I mean: https://developer.android.com/
Here I’m able to test new Android releases and read documentations about changes made to Android and how to make my apps compatible with this new release.

Currently I don’t see any of this at the so called “Samsung Developer Program”.