How to start an app when you tap a button

I would like to learn to program my own watch face. I’m a retired engineer and just want to play around with the software.
I have successfully used galaxy watch studio to make my own watch face after watching the youtube tutorials. I know how to tap a button to display data and to start an app listed in the drop down menu after you “set as a button”.
I want to tap a button to start an app that isn’t in that list. I would like to tap a button and start a walking work out, or tap a button to start the stopwatch app, or timer app.
How to I do that? Do I need to learn to write a tizen application? I can figure that out easy. Could you please point me in the right direction.
Thanks
Vince

I moved this to Galaxy Watch Studio for Tizen as it can be done using GWS. You can do watch faces with Tizen Studio but it is much more complicated.

There are two ways to start an app that isn’t in the list.
First is to get the App ID for the app and just use that as Custom App (See below how to get app ID)
The other way is use Double Tap and have that open App Chooser. The end user can then set that to the app that they want to open.

Getting App ID

Here is how to do it with Android 9 and newer
Open Galaxy Store App on your phone
upper right hand corner tap on 3 dots (note if you have updates you will see a number over the dots)
tap on My Page
tap on All
find the app you want to open and tap on it
tap on the 3 dots in the upper right hand corner
select Share
send it to yourself in email
it will often send the appID

Use Tizen Studio to create this to get a list if you can’t share the one you want with yourself.

Hope This helps,

Ron
Samsung Developer Relations

Thank you very much for your reply. I found the app id’s in the galaxy store. I will learn to run that code snippet tonight. I do have past programming experience and enjoy all of this. I think i will learn tizen studio for fun.
Thanks
Vince