New steps in Google Store for release

The new way to upload watch faces and the companion app is even more convoluted than before.

I am not sure what I am doing wrong, but it is still in draft and just does not look correct. And of course you cannot delete the upload and start again without asking them… arg it is such a stupid system, anyway.

Does anyone have a better understanding of how we are supposed to upload the watch face and companion app now since the changes? What steps first then next, etc.

Would really appreciate some guidance.

2 Likes

Im struggling with companion app only but last time I get rejected message (for WearOS package, as I dont know how companion works and Im not a developer :frowning: ), when I put the test track with Wear OS and then a day later I got approval for prod.
so its all confusing in general from last 1+ year for me when i started this WearOS.

Rgds,
Niranjan

I filled out everything as usual. This is the name…screenshots…description. 2. I went to Advanced settings and there I chose the Wear type. 3. I pressed the working version. From the top next to the button where Create issue - a little to the left I switched the track to Wear device only. And uploaded the dial there. 4. In the same place, I switched the track to Mobile devices, Tablets … And the companion loaded it there. 5. Returned to the advanced settings, added screenshots for Wear and ticked the box to become a Wear member.

I believe you’re correct. Previously, uploading a watch face did not require any internal testing one month ago. However, now, if you navigate to the advanced settings and choose Wear OS, you must submit a version for internal testing. On the other hand, if you decide to initiate a full rollout, you’ll receive a message to remove Wear OS.

See this topic for more information

There is also Play Store documentation on this recent change.

Ron
Samsung Developer Relations

2 Likes

Hello everyone.