Pixel Watch not honoring complication layout settings

Hi- I’m new to Watch Face Studio, but really appreciate how simple it makes crafting a custom watch face.

I’m noticing some differences between how the watch renders Complications vs how I have set them up in the editor- I assume this is just a lack of full compatibility between the Pixel Watch and Watch Face Studio?

Some inconsistencies I’ve been struggling with:

• Pixel Watch seems to always show the “Icon + Text + Title” Layout, even if you set up a different one like “Text + Title”.
  • Pixel Watch doesn’t seem to honor a custom width of complication text fields. So, for example, my projected sunset/sunrise time is cutting off, e.g. “6:55A…”, even when I make the field really wide in the editor. (This width seems to be ignored as far as I can tell)
  • Pixel Watch doesn’t honor custom icon placement, like putting a complication’s icon to the left of the text instead of on top

Does this sound pretty consistent with others’ experiences? Or might I be doing something wrong?

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi.

I haven’t seen such things (incorrect layout, unwanted truncated textbox, displaced icon, …).
But indeed WFS seems to be delayed to catch up the latest Google Complication resources. For example:

• WFS can’t show the calendar icon for “Day and Date” while developing faces, but on the watch, “icon + text + title” loads the icon properly.
  • Current battery complication (on the watch) does NOT render “%” at the tail of battery percentage value, but WFS renders “%” still.
  • Some icon images might be mismatched against the actual Pixel Watch.
  • Font size might be difference a bit between WFS preview and the actual watch.

This shows the preview image in WFS (re-scaled to 384x384 to fit to the actual watch):
Proiettore_1666886385442

And the actual watch does:
screenshot-2022-11-28-02-39-47