"Create Your First Tizen Wearable" : UI Hangs, Kernel Not Booting, No Log Info

Hello,

I’m new to Tizen and am trying the sample app at https://docs.tizen.org/application/web/get-started/wearable/first-app/#create

Latest Tizen Studio (3.7) is running in a 64-bit VMWare instance of Ubuntu 16.04.6 LTS (Linux ubuntu 4.15.0-45-generic #48~16.04.1-Ubuntu SMP x86_64)

At the point where I run the application, the Wearable is supposed to display, “Hello Tizen” but it just hangs at “Booting the Kernel”. It’s been there for minutes and no log entries have been made.

Is there a configuration issue I’m missing? What do I need to check in Ubuntu or Tizen to be sure the environment isn’t missing something? I’m not seeing anything in the instructions.

I’ve also done the following, per Ubuntu requirements:

1. sudo apt-get install libwebkitgtk-1.0-0 cpio rpm2cpio

2. sudo apt-get install acl bridge-utils openvpn libfontconfig1 libglib2.0-0 libjpeg-turbo8 libpixman-1-0 libpng12-0 libsdl1.2debian libsm6 libv4l-0 libx11-xcb1 libxcb-icccm4 libxcb-image0 libxcb-randr0 libxcb-render-util0 libxcb-shape0 libxcb-xfixes0 libxi6

Thanks for your help!

You are creating a Tizen Wearable 5.5 app and in your project settings it shows a Mobile 4.0 emulator setting.

It is a pain but the easiest way to clear this and any caches is to restart Tizen Studio. If Emulator Manager is running or any emulators running close them before you restart Tizen Studio.

Be sure the emulator is the 5.5 version but remember there are not Watches that support Tizen 5.5 at this time so you can’t test on a device.

Ron
Samsung Developer Program

HI,

I was able to duplicate this myself with the Tizen 5.5 emulator and Tizen 5.5 project but I dialed it back to Tizen 4.0 an Tizen 4 Emulator and all worked fine. I don’t think the new emulator is without bugs.

Ron