Suggestion to end major issues and setbacks: Google's Material You

This might be a long suggestion but I think that if properly integrated it can solve A LOT of issues that both designers and Samsung itself runs into when it comes to themes.

Although I am not a developer and do not know how exactly the coding side of the themes currently works, from my own inquisitive interest I have found that the APK files that get generated from the STP file through GTS contain specific assets for each system app that can get themed. In a way it is like the UI being a certain shape and the theme APK matches that shape and overlays it, so when the “shape” matches we get a properly themed UI.

Although this might have been the only solution to theming in 2016 when this service started, nowadays this system is too slow to catch up with all the constant and rapidly changing UI of all the system apps that get themed. As you might know, a lot of times the UI gets updated, perhaps a new button or a new icon or even a completely new screen inside a system app. This then creates the need to update the theme, because as previously said, now the “shape” does not match. So currently the responsibility mostly lies on the designers to constantly update the themes so that way the users can get the properly themed UI.

The problem with this is that the majority of times when validation tests get rejected are not because designers do not know how to properly use readable colors but because either GTS does not properly generate the color palette or because the UI itself uses the wrong color sources. This then creates all those unnecessary back and fourths of reporting bugs through inquiries, waiting for replies stating that the issue will be fixed through a software/app/GTS update. By the time the issue is solved, many… many weeks have passed.

Solution: