Tizen Studio 4.1 now works on Big Sur!

I just got Tizen Studio working on Big Sur, running on an Intel iMac!

This is a good start, but I am still facing serious problems and need help (this is probably related to not using Tizen Studio for more than half a year…)

• during installation, it asked for permission to install Intel HAXM - I have heard that this is not compatible with M1 Mac? Those using M1 Mac might want to be cautions.
  • during installation, it cannot install over existing Tizen Studio and Tizen Studio data directories. So I backup those and now facing issues…
  • during installation, the Package Manager pops up - what should I install? As a watch only developer, I installed 4.0 and 6.0, is that enough? Do I need to install 5.5/5.0/3.0/2.3.2/2.3.1/2.3?

Anyway, right now I can’t run the app, when run as web app, nothing happened (no simulator popping up).

Any advices are welcome!

I don’t have a Mac so can’t help on that but Tizen is Backwards compatible, so you don’t need the latest version.

I would not install the Tizen 6 as there is no compatible watch devices and in my opinion the emulators never quite work right with new versions.
I would install Tizen 4 it is compatible with all unless you are accessing certain Health sensor information.

If you run as a Web App it opens the emulator be sure in the package manager Extensions SDK that the Samsung Wearable Extension is installed. I believe that is necessary for the Wearable emulator.

When you run as Web App it runs on the emulator, not the simulator.

If you can open the Emulator Manager can you launch an emulator?

Ron
Samsung Developer Program

Thanks! And you are most helpful. Hope you can help me out on this.

Following your advice, I now get emulator working! I did that by replacing the Tizen studio data folder by the old version. But I am still facing with final issue: do a signed build (so that I can upload).